To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

10/21/2003  7:40 PM ET 
Jamie Moyer wins 2003 Roberto Clemente Award presented by John Hancock
Award recognizes players committed to humanitarian causes and community service

MIAMI -- Seattle Mariners left-handed pitcher Jamie Moyer has been named the 2003 winner of the prestigious Roberto Clemente Award presented by John Hancock, Commissioner Allan H. (Bud) Selig announced today.

The Roberto Clemente Award is presented each year to the Major League Baseball player who combines outstanding baseball skills with devoted work in the community. Moyer was selected from a list of 30 nominees, one from each Major League Club.

Moyer is the second Mariners player to win the award, joining Mariners infielder Harold Reynolds who was honored in 1991.

"It is a very special honor to be recognized with the Roberto Clemente Award, considering what it stands for," Moyer said. "Roberto Clemente was among the first athletes whose good deeds showcased what athletes could bring to charities; his tragic death while serving others was an inspiration for generations of athletes, and non-athletes. Today, players throughout baseball really work hard to give back to their communities. It is very important and very necessary to me, and to my family, to do the work in the community we do. I am honored to be linked, in a small way, with Roberto Clemente."

Moyer, and his wife Karen, have been active members of the community for years, contributing countless hours, funds and resources to charitable organizations and programs throughout the Northwest. In July 2000, Jamie and Karen created The Moyer Foundation. Since its inception, The Moyer Foundation has raised nearly $3 million in support of more than 100 different organizations. This year, Moyer also teamed up with the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center to create the Gregory Fund, a new initiative that raised nearly $250,000 in funds and awareness for early detection cancer research. Jamie is also involved with Mariners Care, the Seattle Mariners non-profit foundation, and its programs, including: Reviving Baseball in the Inner Cities (RBI), Home Run Readers, Mariners D.R.E.A.M. Team Assembly program, Seattle Mariners Back to School Rally and the Mariners Get Well Tour.

"Everyone at the Mariners takes very seriously our responsibility to contribute to the community," said Howard Lincoln, Mariners CEO. "Jamie embodies that spirit. The Mariners join with Major League Baseball in congratulating Jamie on his award."

John Hancock will present Jamie Moyer with a $25,000 check to The Moyer Foundation in recognition of his selection as the 2003 Roberto Clemente Award winner. John Hancock also will make a $30,000 contribution in Moyer's name to Roberto Clemente Sports City, a multi-purpose sports and education center in Puerto Rico.

The Moyer Foundation's mission is to offer encouragement, comfort and support to children and families enduring a time of profound distress and to provide opportunities for enhancing overall wellness, stability and quality of life. Since its inception in July, 2000, The Moyer Foundation has raised over $3 million and provided assistance to more than 150 different organizations.

Moyer enjoyed an outstanding 2003 season, posting a 21-7 record (T-2nd AL) with a 3.27 ERA (T-6th AL). He ranks second on the Mariners all-time wins list, second in games started, second in career wins, second in innings pitched and fourth in strikeouts. Moyer earned his 100th win as a Mariner in 2003 and also was named to his first All-Star team.

This annual award has been presented by Major League Baseball since 1971. In 1973 the award was named to honor Clemente, who died on December 31, 1972 during a humanitarian mission to assist earthquake victims in Nicaragua. The winner of the 2003 Roberto Clemente Award presented by John Hancock was selected by a panel of dignitaries including Commissioner Selig, Vera Clemente, the wife of the late Roberto Clemente and David D'Alessandro, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of John Hancock.

National Roberto Clemente Award winners

1971 Willie Mays
1972 Brooks Robinson
1973 Al Kaline
1974 Willie Stargell
1975 Lou Brock
1976 Pete Rose
1977 Rod Carew
1978 Greg Luzinski
1979 Andre Thornton
1980 Phil Niekro
1981 Steve Garvey
1982 Ken Singleton
1983 Cecil Cooper
1984 Ron Guidry
1985 Don Baylor
1986 Gary Maddox
1987 Rick Sutcliffe
1988 Dale Murphy
1989 Gary Carter
1990 Dave Stewart
1991 Harold Reynolds
1992 Cal Ripken Jr.
1993 Barry Larkin
1994 Dave Winfield
1995 Ozzie Smith
1996 Kirby Puckett
1997 Eric Davis
1998 Sammy Sosa
1999 Tony Gwynn
2000 Al Leiter
2001 Curt Schilling
2002 Jim Thome
2003 Jamie Moyer

Mariners Headlines
• More Mariners Headlines