© 2012 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

10/29/2012 12:41 PM ET

Brendan Ryan And Dustin Ackley Named Gold Glove Finalists

Ryan (shortstop) and Ackley (second base) named one of three finalists in AL at their positions.

SEATTLE, Wash. -- The Seattle Mariners double play combination of Brendan Ryan (shortstop) and Dustin Ackley (second base) have been named finalists for the 2012 American League Rawlings Gold Award® at their respective positions.

Ryan and Ackley anchored the Mariners defense that tied for the American League lead with a .988 fielding percentage (72 E, 6012 TC), second-best in club history. The duo combined for a Major League-high 38 defensive runs saved, the most by any middle-infield combination in the Majors (source: baseball info solutions).

Ryan, 30, led all Major League shortstops with 27 defensive runs saved (2nd-highest amongst any position player). He posted a .985 fielding percentage (9 E, 601 TC) in 138 games at shortstop (134 starts).

Ackley, 24, tied for third amongst AL second baseman with 11 defensive runs saved. In 142 starts at second base he made only 7 errors for a .989 fielding percentage (7 E, 639 TC).

The Gold Glove award winners will be announced tomorrow (Tuesday, Oct. 30) at 6 p.m. PT on ESPN2. Each manager and up to six (6) coaches on his staff voted from a pool of qualified players in their League, and were not able to vote for players on their own team. The 2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Award finalists are as follows:

American League:

P             Jeremy Hellickson                Tampa Bay Rays

                Jake Peavy                             Chicago White Sox

                C.J. Wilson                              Los Angeles Angels


C             Alex Avila                                Detroit Tigers

                Russell Martin                        New York Yankees

                A.J. Pierzynski                        Chicago White Sox

                Matt Wieters                            Baltimore Orioles


1B           Adrian Gonzalez                    Boston Red Sox

                Eric Hosmer                           Kansas City Royals

                Mark Teixeira                         New York Yankees


2B           Dustin Ackley                        Seattle Mariners

                Robinson Cano                      New York Yankees

                Dustin Pedroia                       Boston Red Sox


3B           Adrian Beltre                          Texas Rangers

                Brandon Inge                         Oakland Athletics

                Mike Moustakas                     Kansas City Royals

SS           Elvis Andrus                           Texas Rangers

                J.J. Hardy                                Baltimore Orioles

                Brendan Ryan                       Seattle Mariners


LF           Alex Gordon                           Kansas City Royals

                Desmond Jennings              Tampa Bay Rays

                David Murphy                         Texas Rangers


CF           Austin Jackson                       Detroit Tigers

                Adam Jones                           Baltimore Orioles

                Mike Trout                               Los Angeles Angels


RF           Shin-Soo Choo                      Cleveland Indians

                Jeff Francoeur                       Kansas City Royals

                Josh Reddick                          Oakland Athletics


National League:

P             Bronson Arroyo                      Cincinnati Reds

                Mark Buehrle                          Miami Marlins

                Clayton Kershaw                   Los Angeles Dodgers


C             Yadier Molina                         St. Louis Cardinals

                Miguel Montero                      Arizona Diamondbacks

                Carlos Ruiz                             Philadelphia Phillies


1B           Freddie Freeman                  Atlanta Braves

                Adam LaRoche                      Washington Nationals

                Joey Votto                               Cincinnati Reds


2B           Darwin Barney                       Chicago Cubs

                Aaron Hill                                Arizona Diamondbacks

                Brandon Phillips                    Cincinnati Reds


3B           Chase Headley                      San Diego Padres

                Aramis Ramirez                     Milwaukee Brewers

                David Wright                           New York Mets


SS           Zack Cozart                            Cincinnati Reds

                Ian Desmond                         Washington Nationals

                Jose Reyes                             Miami Marlins

                Jimmy Rollins                        Philadelphia Phillies


LF           Ryan Braun                             Milwaukee Brewers

                Carlos Gonzalez                    Colorado Rockies

                Martin Prado                           Atlanta Braves


CF           Michael Bourn                        Atlanta Braves

                Andrew McCutchen              Pittsburgh Pirates

                Drew Stubbs                           Cincinnati Reds


RF           Jay Bruce                                Cincinnati Reds

                Andre Ethier                           Los Angeles Dodgers

                Jason Heyward                      Atlanta Braves

This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.