To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
1977-1981 | 1982-1986 | 1987-1991 | 1992-1998 | 1999-Present
Timeline 1982-86
1982  - In the first Mariner milestone since Opening Day 1977, the crafty Gaylord Perry became the 15th pitcher in history to claim his 300th career win in a 7-3 victory. In the win, Perry went the distance against New York striking out four and walking one.  1982 stats >
1983  - The year of the USS Mariner stationed beyond the outfield wall, designed to fire a cannon after every home run and the bullpen tug created to transport pitchers from the pen into the game. It was also the year the club saw its third midseason manager change as Del Crandall replaced Rene Lachemann. Seattle finished with a 60-102 record.  1983 stats >
1984  -
mariners team photo
The Mariners pose harborside.

Seattle's first legitimate star arrived on the ML scene as first baseman Alvin Davis captured the hearts and cheers of Seattle fans everywhere. The first inductee into the Mariners Hall of Fame, Davis produced 126 RBI, 27 home runs and a .284 average. He was also named Rookie of the Year and to the 1984 All-Star team. Other familiar faces made their mark in 1984 as Mark Langston (17-10, 3.40) took to the mound while future Mariners' announcer Dave Henderson patrolled the outfield.  1984 stats >

1985  - Led by Manager Chuck Cottier, who was brought aboard in September of 1984, the Mariners landed 74 wins for the second straight year. Phil Bradley led the club with a .300 average and was named to the All-Star team.  1985 stats >
1986  - The club struggled through three managerial changes, moving from Cottier to Marty Martinez, until finally settling on Dick Williams in May. Seattle finished with a 67-95 record and placed outfielder Phil Bradley in the All-Star game.  1986 stats >

1977-1981 | 1982-1986 | 1987-1991 | 1992-1998 | 1999-Present